Jockey Club Gold Cup

Jockey Club Gold Cup BettingJockey Club Gold Cup 2013 | This year’s Jockey Club Gold Cup will be held on Saturday 5th October 2013. Flat Out won the race for the second consecutive year in 2012 by beating Stay Thirsty and the favourite Fort Larned. Flat Out was trained by Scooter Dickey in 2011 but was switched to Bill Mott in New York after two defeats in Florida. He won on his third start for Mott to make it three wins from three at Belmont for the horse. The key supporting race on the card is the Kelso Handicap (Grade 2), won last year by Jersey Town from the front-running Shackleford.

There will be a lot of action of betting on the 2013 Jockey Club Gold Cup and we recommend Racebook (USA) or William Hill Racebook for any horse race betting.

History of the Jockey Club Gold Cup

The Jockey Club Gold Cup dates back to 1919 and is the feature event of the fall meeting at Belmont Park. In 2008 it became part of the Breeders’ Cup Challenge series, the winner automatically qualifying for the Breeders’ Cup Classic.

The Jockey Club Gold Cup is usually the first significant clash of the generations as horses that have performed well in the US Triple Crown races meet older horses for the first time, and it’s in general an important event in US horse racing. It was originally known as the Jockey Club Stakes. The race was run over 1 ½ miles from 1976 to 1989 before being reduced to a mile and a quarter.

It offers prize money of $750,000 and carries Grade 1 status. It has suffered a little in recent years from its proximity to the Breeders’ Cup but has a proud history. The roll of honour is littered with Hall of Fame horses including the legendary Kelso who won it five times.

See a video from the 2012 Jockey Gold Cup here.

The Winners

Betting on Jockey Club Gold Cup winners is not an easy task but we will give our tips ahead of this event closer to race-date. Here’s some of the previous winners; Kelso’s record of five wins (1960, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964) is a truly phenomenal record but there have been many great winners down the years. Seven horses have won the race twice including the Triple Tiara winner, Shuvee (1970 and 1971). The most exciting running in the history of the event was probably that of 1978 when Exceller beat the great Seattle Slew (winner of the 1977 Triple Crown) by a nose with the 1978 Triple Crown winner, Affirmed, only fifth after his saddle slipped during the race.

Man O’ War beat Damask in a match race in 1920 by fifteen lengths, the runner-up being entered as a sporting gesture by owner Harry Payne Whitney in order to prevent a walk-over. Despite being firmly restrained to avoid embarrassing the second horse, Man O’War still managed to break the American record for a mile and a half.

Mad Hatter (1921-1922), Dark Secret (1933-1934), Nashua (1955-1956), Slew o’ Gold (1983-1984), Creme Fraiche (1986-1987), Skip Away (1996-1997), Curlin (2007-2008) and Flat Out (2011-2012) all won the race twice. Dark Secret tragically broke down near the finishing line in 1934 and could not be saved from his injuries. Five Triple Crown winners also won the Jockey Club Gold Cup; Gallant Fox, War Admiral, Whirlaway, Citation and Affirmed. Only Gallant Fox and Citation won it during their 3-year-old seasons.

Other significant winners were Bernardini (2006), a first success in the race for the Darley organisation, and hall of fame stars Cigar (1995) and John Henry (1981). British racing fans may remember River Keen (1999) and Mineshaft (2003) who started their careers in the UK before going on to great success in America.

The Records

The fastest time recorded since the race was reduced to a mile and a quarter was set by Skip Away in 1997 (1:58.89). Glen Riddle Farm (1960, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964) and Bohemia Stable (1919, 1920, 1925, 1926, 1938) have been the most successful owner with five wins apiece. Jockey Eddie Arcaro won the race an incredible ten times between 1935 and 1961 including a run of six victories in eight seasons. He rode Kelso to his first two victories with Ismael Valenzuela being in the saddle on the last three occasions. Trainer Jim Fitzsimmons is the all-time leading trainer with seven victories in the Jockey Club Gold Cup (including twice with both Nashua and Dark Secret). He trained the winner in 1929, 1930, 1933, 1934, 1944, 1955 and 1956.